Marie Lu: My Asian Author

presskit_1

I am Asian. I try not to make a big deal out of it. Generally, I live my life in peace, hardly ever thinking about “the color of my skin. “ By that standard, I don’t usually decide to read books by the race or cultural background of the author either. Last year, I was looking on Goodreads at the books they suggested for me and saw Legend. Legend was the first book after I read Hunger Games that not only had a great concept but a flow and story that held my attention. Only later did I discover the author was Asian.

My thoughts about the Legend Trilogy:

All the books in the Legend series were phenomenal. The plot was well thought out and the world was detailed. The characters were love-able, hate-able and human. It never left me wanting. I was never disappointed. Marie Lu had not taken any shortcuts in creating the Legend experience. Most importantly the ending felt right. She did the tough real life thing with her characters and it fit the story.

Recently, I had the opportunity to pre-read her newest novel, The Young Elites. I have to say it lacks some of the maturity I found in Legend but it was equally as addicting, unpredictable and thoroughly enjoyable. I am excited to see this story progress. Marie Lu is definitely on my list of authors to watch. I hope to see her books gain even more popularity. The Legend series should have surpassed many books that have gained national notoriety, though I may be a little biased because it is nice to see someone with my similar background succeed.

Diversity for all and all for diversity.

Untitled-1

Leave a Reply

