The Song of the Soccer Fan

Graham Zusi

I have been to a few Sporting Kansas City games in the last two years, but I have never had the pleasure of sitting in our members section A.K.A. “Blue Hell” or “The Cauldron”.

It was very cool.

My impression was that the most charming part of soccer games are the cheers. Derogatory, trashy, catchy, and full of filthy language. These songs are screamed on repeat by the dedicated and hardcore fans of the members section.

Here is one of my favorites:

Wings of a Sparrow

If I had the wings of a sparrow

If I had the ass of a crow

I’d fly over _________ Tomorrow

and Shit on those bastards below

Shit on, Shit on,

Shit on those bastards below

Shit on, Shit on,

Shit on those bastards below

While scoring happens less often in soccer than in other sports it was a fun involved experience in the members section. The excitement and dedication was palpable. These folks were the life of the game. We were on our feet singing, cheering and making new friends. I am already looking forward to going back for another game.

Leave a Reply

