Love is the Answer

It’s rare that a music video can move a person. I discovered artist Aloe Blacc this week and after watching the video for “Love is the Answer” I couldn’t help but wipe away an awkward tear that had cascaded down my cheek.

I knew that dismissing kids during class for being disruptive is a way to handle a classroom, and that it’s difficult for teachers to be both educators and disciplinarians, but I never knew the term for this type of disregard for the “disruptive” student.

“Willful defiance,” it’s called and “school-to-prison” pipeline. While I can’t begin to know the complex details that surround this problem and how it plagues the Los Angeles school system, I can’t help but think that something can be done. The answer, after all, is love for thy neighbor and for thy community.

Leave a Reply

