Sunday at Barney’s and Bergdorf

valentino

Often, when I have family visit me in the city, we head to up to the UES and take in the likes of Barney’s and Bergdorf Goodman. This past Sunday, I did just that with my grandma in tow. While she just wanted to step into these “fine” department stores just to see what it would be like to step into all that wealth, I wanted to go exploring.

In the end, I kind of treated the experience as if I were going to a museum, oohing and ahhing at all the desirable designer digs, but I took notes too. I discovered such brands as Mark Cross and Valextra, tried on some Yves Saint Laurent Paris pumps, and jaw dropped on a Valentino dress that easily cost $7k.

It was fun too holding up my $40 H&M black handbag and at first glance not being able to tell a discernible difference. But after letting my hands flow over the expensive leathers and silks, I knew there was quality to be had at the price tag’s defense.

Maybe next time I’ll work up the gumption to ask to try some pieces on. Not sure how that works at such a fancy store (I sound so country!), but it would be nice to know what exactly a $7k dress feels like!

Leave a Reply

