Quick Paprika Chicken with Quinoa and Broccoli

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I have no patience when it comes to cooking dinner. I’d rather be catching up on the latest episode of The Good Wife or reading the latest Oyeyemi novel. But alas, one must eat to survive.

A few months back I finally tried a Pinterest recipe, “Quick Lime Cilantro Chicken,” and while I was quite satisfied with result, I learned a shortcut along the way.

The shortcut: letting the chicken cook on its own after filling the base of the pan with oil. Before, I’d constantly hover over my chicken simmering in broth, tossing and turning each piece until cooked through! Now, I can multitask or you know, sip on a glass of wine instead.

Now, when needing a quick dinner fix, skipping the afore mentioned lime and cilantro – we can’t be fancy all the time – this is how I prepare my quick paprika chicken with quinoa and broccoli meal ::

1. Quinoa: prep and cook according to package. My favorite has been Trader Joe’s white quinoa for under $4.

2. Broccoli (or any veggie): prep and cook per your usual tastes. Me, I like to steam mine for a good 15 to 20 mins on the stove.

3. Chicken: wash and cube boneless chicken breasts and deposit into large mixing bowl. Bring skillet to medium heat. Generously season chicken with paprika, pepper and a dash of salt. Cover base of skillet with EVOO, immediately add seasoned chicken, and evenly spread out in skillet. Let cook for 10-15 mins before turning. Cook for another 10-15 mins until cooked fully through.

4. Deposit chicken, quinoa and choice vegetable onto plate, instagram, and enjoy!

Total running time: 20 – 30 mins

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

