Skin Care: Good Housekeeping Anti-Aging Awards

Shortly after I graduated college, found a job and established myself, my mother came to visit me.  The morning after she arrived we were both in the bathroom getting ready together. She was definitely watching me and obviously choosing to hold her tongue. If you know my mother this is quite the feat for her. 30 minutes later, while we are at brunch, she says to me, “ You know, you have a job now, you could probably spend a little more money on your face.”

 

I have looked into beauty products before, but the whole thing is really daunting! There are so many brands and products out there. In the US alone cosmetics is a $40+ Billion industry. I have been discouraged by very expensive products as many times as I have been by the less expensive drug store counterparts. While I now have significantly more money than I did in college I still feel like $100 for a couple of ounces of something or other is a lot. All that being said, I am still victim to our beauty and youth driven society and I still find myself in pursuit of a beauty regimen I can sustain and afford.

 

This past holiday season I was actually looking for some good anti-aging creams or lotions for my boyfriend’s sisters, at their request when I discovered the following video:

 

http://www.today.com/style/best-buys-good-housekeepings-anti-aging-awards-6C10902054

 

I watched that video a couple of times and was surprised to see the lower cost options Good Housekeeping listed. I was glad to hear that they had done significant testing of their own to make these determinations. Per their website their list is “the creams of the crop from our nearly yearlong study involving almost 1,000 volunteers, 2,000 questionnaires, and 25,000-plus lab measurements”. While I was still some what skeptical I was also hopeful and the lower cost on some of the items encouraged me to at least try some of the products.

The products I have personally tried are the Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair Moisturizer SPF 30 and the Boots No7 Lift & Luminate Night Cream.

The Neutrogena I liked quite a bit. I was concerned upon first use because there was a bit of a “sunscreen” smell and my experience with that smell has been a heavy cream that leaves an oily feel on my skin. However when I applied it to my face it felt light and blended right in. I have been using it for three months now and I really like it. I have one large sunspot on my temple and I think it has started to fade since using this product. I actually have very dry skin so I was surprised how well it worked. With my old moisturizer I would have to apply multiple layers. There are still days that are extremely dry and I have applied an extra layer, especially this winter but they are very few.

I purchase this the Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkel Repair Moisturizer at Walgreens, which they actually have on sale there quite frequently. The one ounce bottle lasted probably two months. I moisturize not only my face but also my neck so I may use a bit more than the average user. (This was a tip from Jennifer Garner in the book ‘Paul Starr on Beauty’)

Neutrogena RWR from Amazon

The Boots No7 smells expensive. That is the first thing I noticed. I love the light refreshing floral fragrance. It is nice to smell good before calling it a night. It is also very moisturizing. The first time I used it I could feel a difference in the morning. My skin felt tighter and looked more even toned. I am definitely prettier in the morning on the nights I remember to apply it.

I am able to purchase Boots No7 from Target. This is super handy since I frequently shop there.

Boots No 7

For my boyfriend’s sisters, I ended up purchasing the RoC Multi Correxion Lift Anti-Gravity Day Moisturizer SPF 30. I went with this brand purely because I thought it sounded fancier than Neutrogena and this was a Christmas present. They both expressed liking the product and started using it the day after they received it.

GH RoC

I also made a purchase for my mother who complains about the freckles she has gotten since starting to work in the garden more. I gave her the L’Oréal Paris Youth Code Dark Spot Correcting & Illuminating Serum Corrector. She has actually been using this on herself and my father, when she can catch him. They both feel like there has been a noticeable difference in the last three months. She was very happy with it.

GH Loreal


Recently, I have been toying with the idea of adding an eye cream from the Good Housekeeping list next. Keep in mind your skin type is unique to you and as long as it works for you go, for it! If you are like me and just need a starting place this is a great list. I am actually kind of excited to see their picks for 2014.

Leave a Reply

