Why I LOVE Lupita Nyong’o

Lupita Nyong’o was an unknown to me prior to sitting in the theater, watching 12 Years a Slave and seeing her pointed out by Michael Fassbender’s character, Epps. And then as I sat watching Patsey’s sad tale pour out next to Soloman’s I was engrossed in both characters and the actor’s portrayals. Lupita was Chiwetel’s equal in performance during that portion of the movie. They were strong, human and heavy. I felt as though all their emotion and turmoil sat on my chest. It was powerful to say the least.

After seeing the movie, as a nation we headed into awards season and I like many folks fell in love with the humble, charming elegance that is Lupita Nyong’o. Not unlike the way we fell in love with Jennifer Lawrence, Lupita is now also America’s darling. J.Law and Lupita have had similar experiences splashing into Hollywood with powerful breakout performances. They have both seemed to have normal reactions to the experience. Why wouldn’t you gush over actors you have admired for years? Why wouldn’t you just enjoy the moment and experience to the fullest? Of course you would be humble. It is truely refreshing to see how human and relatable they are. J.Law seems to remain true to her self in every interview and situation. Endearing us all with awkward adorable faces, stories and trip-ups. Lupita on the other hand bears her elegance  with an aw-struck humbleness. She beams at every appearance. All in all something about the way these two ladies handle themselves is to be admired and adored.

Lupita, who I found out was 31 years old, has an effervescent youth, vitality and happiness about her that is infectious. I still can’t really believe she is 31. I perused her wiki article and it was nice to hear she came from such an international background and has a wonderfully talented family behind her. Her work experience is also very intriguing. She seems like a delightfully well rounded person. I am excited to see what she will do next and I am sure I will be a long time fan of all of her endeavors. Again, like with J.Law, this is a girl I WISH I could be friends with. Also this girl is gorgeous and has a sense of style I bow to, I am dying to see her in more formal attire, girl really rocks a floor length dress!

Peerless: 12 Years A Slave star Lupita Nyong'o aced her first Golden Globes appearance on Sunday in this stunning Ralph Lauren creation

Images found here, here, here, here, here and here.

Here!

Leave a Reply

