Alamo Drafthouse: The most wonderful place on earth

Quite some time ago, a friend of mine in Austin told me that we (Kansas City) were getting our own Alamo Drafthouse Cinema and that when it opened I should go right away. I am a devote AMC girl (I get bunches of AMC Coupons from work and I adore their recliner style seats) so I did not go right away. I did however peruse its website and I was very interested. I signed up for their weekly updates too. Not only does the ADC show new releases it also shows old classics, cult classics and beloved classics. And even more, they do it with flair!

In a recent email from ADC I saw they were doing a special Moulin Rouge showing. I love that movie so I sent out the email to my book club to see if anyone else wanted to go. In the end my friend Kels and I got tickets to its Moulin Rouge Sing-A-Long. Moulin Rouge is one of those beautiful fun movies that I can watch over and over and that I get the hankering to watch when I haven’t seen it in a while. It is sad and poetic, yes, but it is still fun to watch and even more fun to sing along with. Alamo apparently has this Moulin Rouge Sing-A-Long every year in celebration of Valentine’s Day (great idea). The people who go are of a class. We picked up our tickets at the box office  and as we walked toward the theater you could just tell we were among our own kind.

IMG_3039

There were goodies waiting for us at our designated seats. Here is what we got and what scene they correspond with.

  1. Green Glowstick – Green Absinthe Fairy Scene
  2. Fashing Diamond Ring – Diamonds are a girls best friend
  3. Maraca – Roxanne
  4. Frog – “Look darling! There’s a little frog” line during Come What May.

We got situated in our seats (they need purse hooks) and purused the menu. Fried pickles jumped out at Kels and I was dying for some hummus. This was followed by a pitcher of sangria, sodas for each of us, a mushroom and white cheddar veggie burger for Kels and an avocado pesto beef burger for me. To say the least, we feasted. While we were drooling over the the menu we also happened to notice that they offered a gluten free crust option for the pizza, tofu for the intriguing array of salads, some very enticing specials and offered a large selection of milkshakes, which all come in an adult version. It was not your usual fare. We were definitely impressed. Kels is a vegetarian and had to eat gluten free so all this really excited her. A lot of times there are not really delicious sounding options for those with dietary restrictions. Based on the menu alone, we both knew we would be back.

They have a strict no phone policy at the theater, which I actually prefer. I hate it when people have the gall to openly answer their phone during a movie. I had that actually happen and I am definitely that girl who walks up to the person and kindly asks them to leave. I won’t even hide behind an usher, I will just do it because it drives me that batty. Texting I mind less but I can see how it is distracting in smaller theaters, so they say no to that as well. Yay Alamo policy!

The movie was wonderful, everyone was in such a grand mood. The atmosphere was a bit like being at a movie premiere that everyone has been heavily anticipating. We all yelled lines and sang loud and proud. We all fell in and out of love with the characters of the movie. We were rowdy and boisterous and it was most appropriate. Moulin Rouge was a glorious movie for this type of experience. I would definitely go again.

“My gift is my song! And this ones for you”

Quick rundown. Each Alamo does a range of special event showings. Such as:

  •  Girlie Night: Slumber party favorites back on the big screen
  • Action Pack: Interactive screenings and cinematic events (lots of quote-a-longs)
  • Movie Interrruptions: A live comedy show featuring local and traveling comedians riffing on movies.
  • Cinema Cocktails: Movies which are alcohol-centric and where a mixologist will dazzel you with theamed drinks
  • Tough Guy Cinema: Movies for the toughest of the tough
  • Food +Film: Gourmet Grub expertly paired with Fantastic Features
  • Afternoon Tea: Period Films served with Tea and Treats
  • Broadway Brunch: Start your day on the right note with musicals and mimosas

Tell me this doesn’t sound awesome! I love movies and this just makes it all better. I’m excited to go back.

Alamo Logo from kctv5.com and the facade photo from thehypeweekly.com.

For more information:

http://drafthouse.com/austin

Leave a Reply

